97 XP Carb settings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 97 XP Carb settings

Newbie here! I have a 97 xp completly stock (around 70 hours) and my carb was cleaned by a jetski shop. It ran pretty good but it had a bog to it when you floor it. Infact it always had a bog too it since I got it used. I followed the carb settings and reading the spark plugs for correct mixture in the tech section. I turned the lows 2 and a 1/2 turns out and the highs are about 1 turn out for now. I put new plugs in it and drove it at 3,000 rpms for almost 15 min and the plugs still appear to be lean. the porcelin looks very dark but the rim looks very clean with about a 1/4 of it has black oil on it that you can just wipe off. Is this what i'm looking for? When I'm driving at 3,000 rpm I can smell the exhaust and it appears to be rich. I also got on it just for a couple seconds to check out the throttle response and it responded better than it ever did. I was amazed! Should I turn it 1/2 more in and leave it there? I don't want to melt any pistons. Also before I did any of this my ski was going around 50mph @6,500 rpm and I turned the lows 1/4 in to see what would happen and all of a sudden it's almost hitting 7,000rpm @ 56mph on the dreamometer. I let off immediatly after that because I'm not sure if i leaned it out too much. What mph and rpm I'm looking for on these 97 xp's? Should I put the lows @ 2 turns out to be on the safe side? I forgot to mention I removed the air cleaner box and the top part of the carb to get to the lows to adjust them and drive it like that for tuning. I was'nt sure if removing that affects the mixture.

Thanks
    George
    Last edited by gnxv6; 08-06-2004, 07:56 PM.

Re: 97 XP Carb settings

Screw the highs back in and check the operation of the accelerator pump.

Comment