Possible bad crank....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible bad crank....

I bought a 1999 polaris genesis from the owner for 500 bucks and was told that the engine was most likely bad. I went and talked to the service guy from polaris who had listened to it at their house, and he said that crank shaft was bad, and that It would cost me more to have them replace the crank than it would for me to buy an engine from you and install it myself. The Ski was not winterized last year, and he says that it most likely rusted, and that there is probably other damage in there, too. Here is my question....If I buy an engine from y'all, how hard is it going to be for me to pull the old one, and install a new one? I've never done this before. Are there areas that i'm going to mess up and blow the engine by accident that I'm going to have to be careful on? I've already read the instructions on replacing the engine on your website, but I thought I would ask because I've never done it before. Will it hurt the engine worse if I go and run it to make sure that there is something wrong with it in the first place? He never opened it up, just listened to it.

Thanks!
    James

Re: Possible bad crank....

I bought a Polaris sl900 about a month ago and had the motor go out on me about two weeks after I bought it. This is my first ski.

I've been slowly removing the parts necessary to get the motor out and it's pretty easy. Only really worked on it two evenings after work for a couple hours each time and the motor is about ready to pull out.

I'm pretty mechanically inclined after working on quite a few cars, but this is my first PWC that I've worked on, but it's really not that bad if you've got some basic hand tools :)

Comment