Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No fuel #1 and #3 GP1200

1997 GP1200, 35 hours total time. New ski to me. Took it out this weekend
    and it wouldn't hit above about 2.5-3k rpm, 5 mph.

Pulled new plugs, #1 and #3 showed no evidence of combustion.
    Took it home, pulled the filter screen, Carbs #1 and #3 are not flowing fuel at all.

It's likely the ski sat with fuel in those carbs, even though previous owner said it was winterized.
    I'm a decent motorcycle mechanic, but know next to nothing about 2-strokes. How difficult is it going to
    be to clean these carbs out? Where do I begin - pull the bowls out and look for the jets?

Advice appreciated... d_Ginther@hotmail.com

It's very easy to do - we sell the rebuild kits for $30 each, and you can download the complete step-by-step guide to rebuilding them in the technical section on the left - then just clik on the Guides...it's at the bottom!

[ March 27, 2001: Message edited by: Bryan Glynn - SBT Webmaster ]

Comment

And BTW - if you have ANY questions about that ski, give me a call at work, or message me - it's GREAT boat and I love mine!!

Comment

And always test the pop off pressure before re-installing the carbs. It saves a ton of time over installing carbs with leaky needles and seats.
        Bill O'Neal WCM
        <a href="http://www.watercraftmagic.com" target="_blank">www.watercraftmagic.com</a>

Comment

I hear a lot about popoff pressure. How do you test it?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm buying a manual!

-d

Comment

hey bud
            those carbs are easy to work on. remove them from the ski. probably a 12 mm wrench stubby.