98 Seadoo XP Limited Top RPM Problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 98 Seadoo XP Limited Top RPM Problem

I have a 98 Seadoo Limited, problem is after the thing was tiped over and then turned over the wrong way.. you guessed it water on the pistons. I was able to clean out the pistons ok. It starts right up no problem, but when you take of it won't go over 4,000 rpm and loses all its power. I am guessing the Carbs are still flooded with water. Any Ideas? (ya I know I am looking at spending a lot of money to fix it)

Re: 98 Seadoo XP Limited Top RPM Problem

You broke a reed petal off when it hydro locked the engine.
    Bill O'Neal <br>
    WCM
    <a href="http://www.watercraftmagic.com"

Comment

Great. I am new to working on these things from a technical standpoint. what is my next step.

Comment

Remove the carbs and intake manifolds and replace the broken reed petals.
        Bill O'Neal <br>
        WCM

Comment

Is there a tech guide for this somewhere? (that would be for a 98 XP Limited) I can do it if I had a guide.

Comment

Read the tech guide for the 951 engine swap, it'll show you the steps you need.
            SBT Tech Support is here to help with your problems.
            We try to answer each question quickly and accurately.
            Please do not use Private Messaging for Tech Support, use the forums.

Comment

Yes, at a local Sea Doo dealership, you can purchase a service manual. If you plan on doing your own work, the manual is worth it's weight in gold.
              Bill O'Neal <br>
              WCM

Comment

Is it possible that water also got in the crankcase? Is there a plug on the crankcase to check for water?

Comment

Yes, It is usually reffered to as a Sparkplug. Remove both sparkplugs and crank the engine over with the starter motor. If water comes shooting out, you have bigger problems than a broken reed valve.
                  Bill O'Neal <br>
                  WCM

Comment

Bill,