1999 GSX Rectifier \ Stator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1999 GSX Rectifier \ Stator

I've tried to find the answer to my question in other threads, but can't find anything exact to my needs.

My 1999 GSX started giving a 12 V low error. After cutting the ski off it would not restart. I trickle charged the battery overnight and after running for a while it began giving the same error message. I took the battery out and had it checked at a local battery shop and they said it was fine, but low on charge. I figure I must have a problem that is causing the battery to discharge when in use.

From reading other posts I learned that earlier sea doos had problems which caused the ski to give a 12 Volt Low message in error. Mine is a 1999 and supposedly this is not an issue. I read that the Rectifier \ Stator might be causing this. ( the battery shop actually mentioned the stator) I do not know if they are the same thing or different parts. I'm by no means a mechanic, but was wondering if I could check this and if it was a part that is easily replaced. I'm trying to save a drive to the nearest repair shop that is about 1 hr away. If not overly expensive I would replace it to start with instead of maiking the 2 hr drive to see if it solved the problem. If so. what is a good online parts house.

Thanks for any info. you can give.

Hamp Lindsey

Re: 1999 GSX Rectifier \ Stator

To test for a rectifier problem start the ski then see what your battery is giving it should be over 13 but under 15

Comment

I assume I check the voltage by attaching a volt meter to the battery while the ski is running to see the reading.

can I keep the ski running out of water long enough to check this or is there a way to get water to ski whileout of water?

Comment