'95 Wave Venture 700 Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• '95 Wave Venture 700 Help

I have owned this Wave Venture for 4 years now (1 previous owner) and have never had a single problem. This year, it fires up and idles fine but when I get on it, it starts to get up for about 5 seconds and then bogs down. I have replaced the spark plugs, fuel filter, added fuel conditioners, checked all of fuel lines for clogs and even fogged the carburator.

I am a novice when it comes to the internal parts, but opened the carburator just to look and the 2 carbs flies look clean too, golden in color even. The only thing that concerns me is there seems to be some sand and an oily substance around the outsides of the paper-thin gaskets (?). Is there any other filters per say, that I need to check within the carburator for blockage and where? Or what do you suggest?

Re: '95 Wave Venture 700 Help

sand is corrosoin...no sand on water...rebuild carbs if compression is ok....

Comment

Would love to comply and I realize sand is bad, bad, but how did it get in there in the first place? I am anal about washing, rinsing and cyliconing my girls parts after every ride. Unfortunately the only thing I know how to rebuild is computers. This is my first time even opening the carburator up and looking inside. Is it difficult to rebuild or check compression? Is there a manual or something I could go by or do you recommend taking it in to the nearest Yamaha shop? The only thing is, I really don't want to get raped at the repair shop and would like to learn how to do this on my own if I can.

Comment

Check out the SBT technical articles at this link: http://server1.sbtontheweb.com/forum...splay.php?f=30

They tell you how to check compression, rebuild the carbs, etc. Compression on your ski should be 145 - 150 psi. in each cylinder with a fully charged battery, the throttle wide open, and a cold motor.