Ski Won't Start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ski Won't Start

Ok i'm new to jetskis/waverunners and this is my first one its a 2000 yamaha 1200gp with about 19hours onit. I took it out wednesday in the morning and the afternoon and it worked fine. Took it home and drained everything whiped it down, ran the engine with the hose attached etc. Now when i went to start it today it wouldn't start. I'm charging the battery at the moment to make sure its not that. It attempts to start i can hear the engine go start to turnover, well starts spinning or whatever, its like a thumping noise. Sometimes it will just thump once and sometimes multiple times trying to start but it wont doit it for more than a second or two. Then i have to try again, some smoke started to creep up on the lower left of the engine compartment if your facing it from the back. Not a lot but enough to make me nervous. It smelled like somthing was burning i dont know if this is the starter down there or what. It seemed to be from right where an electrical connection attached to a black cylinder. The cylinder was hot heh. Please help me i'm going to the dealer tomorrow and praying to god this isn't something serious.
    "Just ride and never look back"

Re: Ski Won't Start

Im not sure why your cylinder was hot, but if it sounds like a sloth in turning over once or twice, its your battery, wait until its charged and try it again.

Comment

k ill try it in the morning after its charged up, i really hope the starter isnt burned out or anything too serious:-/

Comment