No announcement yet.

Parts required for swap/parts fitment?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parts required for swap/parts fitment?

Hey all-

I've already asked before about swapping my 587 out for a 720. I was told it'd be expensive as hell, etc..so I gave up on the idea.
    Just recently, especially from responses from Bill O'neal2 in other threads, he's mentioned just picking up a decent used 720 and electrical box...making it sound like less of a pain in the ***.
    I'm wondering a few things...
    Can I use my 587 jet pump, starter, driveshaft, on a 720 setup?
    I know I'd need complete 720 motor with carbs and exhaust and electrical box.
    Anything else I'd need?....assuming jet pump, driveshaft, starter from 587 would fit the 720.
    Need a techie reply on this one....
    I'm a newbie...
    The Plan: Back to square one

Re: Parts required for swap/parts fitment?

You can use your starter driveshaft pump but you may want to change your impellor to get optimum performance. you can also use your rotary cover and oil pump

Comment

I won't be using an oil pump...oil block off kit :)
      Rotary cover...don't know a whole lot about jet ski powerplants...what is the rotary cover, where is it, and what does it do?
      kind of a "duh" statement, but the rotary cover...covers the rotary valve, right? what does the rotary valve do?
      I'm a newbie...

Comment

A rotary valve on a two stroke does the same job as reeds. On a 4 stroke, it does what the intake valves do. It is timed to allow the air/fuel mixture from the carbs into the motor at the correct time. The RV cover does cover the RV and it is right under your intake manifold bolted to the side of your motor.
        Bill O'Neal <br>
        WCM
        <a href="http://www.watercraftmagic.com"

Comment

Thanks for clarifying that Bill.