Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Access Cover Hinge

Newbie here.

I have a 1998 Sea Doo GSX. In June, I was riding in the speed lane on a local lake when the access cover on the front broke off and hit me in the face. I was diagnosed with a concussion and had to spend over night in the hospital. The plastic part of the hinge on the very front simply broke off thus shearing the latch and hinge at the other side of the cover (and closest to me).

I found that Bombardier recalled a different model (2004 Sea Doo RXP) for a similar problem but have not been able to find a recall for the WC that I run. I am wondering if anyone out there has had or seen this problem and if I should contact the Coast Guard about a possible recall on this model for this problem.

Thanks in advance!

Re: Access Cover Hinge

I have a 98 GSX ltd. I have heard of no recall. My front hatch riped off while jumping wakes. I do know that I had cracks in the plastic holding on the hinge. The cracks came from trying to close the hatch without pulling the release. I didn't see the cracks as a big deal until the accident. In my case noone other than my wallet was hurt. The S.S. hinge stayed on the ski and the hatch tore off at the cracks. In your case I don't recall any part of the hinge being plastic.

Comment

ive seen them crack usually after a freind tries to close the lid without lifting the metal lock :emoticonc
      be good,
      if you cant be good,
      be carefull
      if you can't be carefull,
      buy a pram

Comment

Thanks for the replies. I should have said that the actual hinge is metal, and what broke off was the plastic that holds the hinge to the cover. The hinge did remain attached to the ski. I am guessing the force of that breaking and the lid flying up then broke off where the lid latches and the whole thing came flying back.

Thanks again.

Comment