Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1998 Yamaha XL1200 motor not turning over

Hello,

My name is Doug and I am new to the STB forum. I am hoping you can help me out. I just bought a 1998 Yamaha XL1200 with 20 hours and it also came with a trailer and it is in very good condition. I only paid 700.00 for it and I am hoping it does not need a new engine. Here is what I know about the problem.

I have the 1998 manuel for it.
    The owner before me told he had it running May of 2007.
    New battery October 2007, check it with a volt meter and it is reading 12.4
    Went to start the motor and nothing happened. Wouldn't even turn over. All three plugs were out of the motor when I tried to turn it over. It seem to me that something is stuck. (I hope not engine)

I would like to turn it over by hand, to see if the engine free, but I am not sure the best way to that is.

Any ideas on what to do?

Thank you for your help.

Doug

Re: 1998 Yamaha XL1200 motor not turning over

Unbolt the shroud that covers the wheel at the rear of the motor. with the plugs out, the ski should be very easy to turn over by hand using that wheel.

If it refuses to budge, pull the pump off and try again (your pump could be seized).
    Dan Solie -
    04 RXP (the "Instigator")
    94 xp (freestyle mods)
    95 xp (faster than the 94)
    JS550 (the toothpick & the loaner)

For FREE Seadoo Manuals - Click HERE!!!!

http://www.tripleateam.com/water/v/U...ery/Dan-Solie/

**** Please do not PM me. I don't do PM's.... Please post your question on the correct forum so that all can see and learn. Thanks! ****

Comment

Dan,

Thanks for email.

"Unbolt the shroud that covers the wheel at the rear of the motor. with the plugs out, the ski should be very easy to turn over by hand using that wheel.

If it refuses to budge, pull the pump off and try again (your pump could be seized)."

I have a few questions.

What do you mean by the shroud cover?