Low compression

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low compression

I just bought a complete top end for a 98 Yamaha XL 1200 from SBT. And after 5 hours of running it under 30 mph I checked the compression and it was 70- 75 -80 psi on the three cylinders. What could have happened? My oil mixture was 4.oz to 1 gallon. This was tested on a new compression gauge. Never rev it more than 6000 rpm, I also let it cool down after every 1/2 an hour to break in. I am an ase master automotive mechanic. I really baby the break in procedure, I know that it takes 8 gallons to break it in, I've only used 7 gallons and my compression is low.

Could I be using to much oil? And is that why the rings may not be sealing right?
    Last edited by ase mechanic; 06-10-2008, 10:53 PM.

Re: Low compression

Did the compression test read correctly when first installed, and got progresively worse? What was the cause of the original failure? What do your spark plugs look like? Did the old pistons seize? Did you clean/rebuld the carburetors? If not they are probably partially clogged and caused the engine to run lean, resulting in your low compression readings. Should be about 2.5 ounces per gallon, but it would not stop the rings from seating.
    John Kubiak
    Powersports Technical Training Professional
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Sea-Doo Tech 13736
    PWC Tech since 1988 (22 years)
    PowerSports since 1976 (34 years)
    NEVER BUY TIRES AT A "BLOW-OUT" SALE
    Please do not use Private Messaging, use the forums.

Comment

I did not do a compression test before I started the engine.the original failure was normal wear and tear. low compression on all 3 cylinders 30-30-40 pistons are still good only needs rings I am saving the pistons for another time. carbs are running good,spark plug are dark probably because of rich oil mix and gasoline mix. I also run 93 oct gas just to play safe for the detonation.and yes I used two compression gauges for the test.

Comment