717 problem running WOT, revving down to 5000rpm

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 717 problem running WOT, revving down to 5000rpm

I recently bought a used 1998 Sportster boat (which according to the repair manual has the dual 717 engines). The starboard engine runs great, WOT around 7000rpm, runs strong. The port engine, runs a little under 7000 rpm @ WOT, maybe around 6600-6700, for a short time, then revs down to around 5000 rpm, and it keeps doing this... 5000, then revs to 6500 or so, then 5000, then 6500 or so, back and forth.. eventually even at WOT it will only run @ 5000 rpm. If you pull the choke cable, the engine will rev down, then all the way back up to 6500-6700 rpm, and run there for a short time again (5-20 seconds).
    It seems that it is not getting enough fuel when this is happening, and of course I suspect the carb on that specific engine... I really haven't looked at anything yet on the engines, and I am new to these engines and boats.
    I assume the fuel filter is on the main fuel line and is used for both engines? If so, then I guess that's not the problem. I haven't looked at the plugs yet, but I was thinking about just replacing them all the way around with new ones since this thing was used and they don't have a service record on it.
    Is there a way I could just clean the carb (on the motor) or off the motor before getting a re-build kit? Or should I just take it off, and do the rebuild? Is there anything else you guys recommend doing to narrow down this issue? Thanks a ton!

Re: 717 problem running WOT, revving down to 5000rpm

Take them off and do a rebuild, you might as well do both motors. Fresh plugs and snip your plug wires back to expose fresh copper.
    Dan Solie -
    04 RXP (the "Instigator")
    94 xp (freestyle mods)
    95 xp (faster than the 94)
    JS550 (the toothpick & the loaner)

For FREE Seadoo Manuals - Click HERE!!!!

http://www.tripleateam.com/water/v/U...ery/Dan-Solie/