venture 1100 keeps blowing crank seals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• venture 1100 keeps blowing crank seals

hey guy .. im new to the forum , and i have a problem with my ski .. it is a 97 yamaha venture 1100 .. it keeps blowing crank seals (rear , by pto) Im guessing it is because of the carb's being so out of whack .. Ive adjusted the carb set screws to factory setting , and the seals still blow .. .. . can I just adjust the carbs like this and run the bike without blowing rear crank seals .. ? does the "pop-off" have a lot to do with this ? I have no way or knowledge to set or adjust pop-off .. any idea's or suggestiong would really help ..

Thanks in advance .. Erik

Re: venture 1100 keeps blowing crank seals

Erik, seals will blow out from a back fire, water in the cylinder or fuel filling up the crank case, it cant compress and pushes out the seal. If your needle and seat are leaking it could be loading up the case with fuel.
    SBT Tech Support is here to help with your problems.
    We try to answer each question quickly and accurately.
    Please do not use Private Messaging for Tech Support, use the forums.

Comment

I think your right ,, i removed the air cleaner when bike was hard to start and my rear carbureator was filled to the top with fuel .. sounds like a carb issue .. Do I need to set the pop off on the carb if Im rebuilding it ? At this point after spending the $$$ on the rebuild parts , I dont want to fool around and may have a mechanic rebuild and adjust my carbs ..

Comment

could be a needle and seat issue, Do a pop-off pressure test and see if it leaks down.
        SBT Tech Support is here to help with your problems.
        We try to answer each question quickly and accurately.
        Please do not use Private Messaging for Tech Support, use the forums.

Comment