Another newbe here: 2000 XL1200LTD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another newbe here: 2000 XL1200LTD

I am a novice and would appreciate any words of wisdom. I bought a 2000 XL1200LTD last year with only 44 hours on it. The prior (and original owner) kept this immaculate and garage kept as do I. Last summer it worked flawlessly. This summer it still works very well but occasionally looses power for 5 - 10 seconds, may even stall, but then works fine after that. The loss of power occurs just after starting up, both from the first start of the day and after sitting for an hour or so. After regaining power, it works great! I have read several threads about this and as well as threads that #3 cylinders for this model year have a history. My questions are 1) what do I do about the brief loss of power that does eventually fully recover and 2) is there any preventative maintenance I should do (or a professional) to reduce the chance of costly damage? I don't mind making a small investment to save on big repairs. Yes, the plugs are new, all else seems to work well and has about 60 hours now.
    Thanks!

Re: Another newbe here: 2000 XL1200LTD

Hi Bill:
    First let me state I am a somewhat "newbie", however, I have this engine and just removed and replaced it with one from SBT. I spent a lot of time with the maintenance manual and became very familiar with the engines operation during this experience. Before I forget, USE SBT! They are awesome. Super satisfied customer. OK here goes: