My experience--951 DI Install in used 2002 Sea Doo GTX-DI

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My experience--951 DI Install in used 2002 Sea Doo GTX-DI

I am new to the PWC community but I have had several boats. My kids asked if we could get a PWC and I foolishly said "sure, if you can find a good used one!" They found one and we picked it up the next day. The Sea Doo ran great and only had 140 hours on it. I did notice that the current owner was using the wrong grade of 2-cycle oil but he said that the stuff he was using worked fine and it was a lot cheaper. Plus he had been using it since new and had no problems. Just to be sure, I pumped out the oil tank and replaced it with the correct grade of oil. We put about 40 hours on it and put it away for the season after winterizing it. About 10 hours into this season, the engine seized tight as a drum. The only way I could move the crankshaft was to take the head off and pound on the head of the piston with a block of wood and a hammer. I am pretty mechanically inclined but I decided against rebuilding and to buy and remanufactured engine from SBT (instead of fixing my existing one) and install it myself. The 951 DI motor is expensive so I got the premium engine for the extra warranty.