Too much oil!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too much oil!

I'm a newbie looking at a good deal on a '92 Polaris SL 650 that runs good on the trailer. Has got new bearings and shaft(not the engine, the impeller). Is the injection system worth trying to adjust, or would it be okay to run premix, and if so, what ratio? My main concern is that I have had dirtbikes where the injected oil was piped straight to a main bearing and then it mixed in the crankcase with the gas. Also where do you hookup flush water to this thing? All I can find is water hoses going to the exhaust end. I saw the article about an extra fuel pump to feed the front carb. What mph or other improvement could that be worth vs. cost? I'm an older guy that has had outboard and inboard and in/out boats before, but have never owned a pwc before, and any and all tips and info will be appreciated!
    Thanks in advance, BigD

Don't try to adjust the oil pump. If you are in doubt as to it working correctly, either replace it (around $200) or go to pre-mix. Using a good TC-W3 oil, mix it at 40:1 on your engine. Yes, the extra fuel pump is needed and we highly recommend it. You need to get a Polaris flush fitting from your local dealer - it goes to the cooling rail on the head - there is a cap on one side that screws off. I'll leave the performance questions to Polaris guys...

Comment

Check-out these previous threads: http://www.sbtontheweb.com/cgi-bin/u...c&f=8&t=000187
      http://www.sbtontheweb.com/cgi-bin/u...c&f=8&t=000159
      http://www.sbtontheweb.com/cgi-bin/u...c&f=9&t=000055

After you go through those threads, fire away with any specifics. The guys that respond (SeaLion, Raider1100 and others) are very helpful. I am newbie also but have gone through my SL750 top-end. If I can help, I'll try.

Good Luck

Comment