dies after reaching top speed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dies after reaching top speed

I'm new to the jet ski world i just bought a polaris SL750 for cheap took it to the water for test run i let it warm up in the cold water for about 3-5 min then i turned circles accelerating slowly till it got to rough then i accelerated to about 25 on speedometer then opened it up it went approx. 30-50yards at full throttle then died and would not run again for about 15-20 min then i went back to the trailor before i got there it died again please help me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You have seized it and done damage - do NOT run it again or you WILL do more. You need to pull the engine and tear it down. It's very likely you have a fuel issue, as the stock 750 pumps were inadaqate for the job and very often seized the egnines.

[ April 06, 2004, 11:36 AM: Message edited by: Technical Support ]
    SBT Tech Support is here to help with your problems.
    We try to answer each question quickly and accurately.
    Please do not use Private Messaging for Tech Support, use the forums.

Comment

would the still run out of the water if it was siezed

Comment

what kind of damage have i caused to engine like what would ineed to do as like rebiuld whole engine or hone cylinders put new rings etc. thanx

Comment

Yes. A seizure is rarely permanent. One the metal cools off (usually a minute or two) the engine will usually turn over and restart, although the cause is still there.

Comment

You won't know what kind of damage was done until you can tear into it and take a look. If any aluminum has gotten to the crank, it needs to be replaced. The 750's were known for putting a hole right through the #1 piston.

Comment