1998 Kawasaki 1100 zxi rebuild

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1998 Kawasaki 1100 zxi rebuild

Took a 1998 Kawasaki 1100 zxi out of storage for a couple of years, tuned it up and took it on the lake. A couple hours later, the ski looked like it was sinking, found the engine compartment FULL of water. The brass fitting from the exhaust riser had sheered off (crazy). After removing the threads and finding some fittings that would work, we had the ski back up and running. A few hours later, the ski wanted to die when coming back to shore. Found piston #1 spark plug was loose. Nothing would get the ski started again. Got it home, removed the head cover to find that the rod for piston 1 broke shattering the cylinder and the top of the crank case.

I am having fun rebuilding the engine myself, as it is my first time doing something like this, but this is right up my alley. I have a couple of questions:

1) I read that the loose spark plug likely caused the detonation of piston 1 by letting in air. Is this because the extra air caused additional compression which (self) ignited the fuel/air mixture early? Also, why do you think the top of piston 1 looked ok but #2 and #3 looked seriously charred and starting to dome. Oh, the heads were milled by someone before me.

2) I have read about taking out the oil pump for "insurance" against failure, how good of an idea is this. The mixture is then 40:1? Do you cap off the oil lines at the carb somehow?

3) There is pitting in the head cover, but not on the domes. I assume this happened when metal was flying all over the place after detonation (you should see the reed valve in cylinder 1!!) The pitting is between the domes and the gasket. Will this be a problem even if I clean up the sharp edges?

4) What parts of the engine should I oil up prior to trying to start the engine for the first time? The crank shaft bearings? The cylinder walls? The pistons?

Thanks!
    Dan

Re: 1998 Kawasaki 1100 zxi rebuild