This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 93 XP engine randomly cuts out

Well unfortunately my first post here is a negative one I'm a newbie to jet skis so please bear with me

I just purchased a 1993 XP about 3 weeks ago from a private owner. Everything is going good with it except one problem that has popped up the last 2 times I've taken it out. If I'm idling or cruising at anything less than roughly 60% throttle, the engine will just cut out on me. If I'm at WOT though I have no problems at all. I'll hit the button and it starts right back up no questions asked, but then it will cut out again within 2 or 3 minutes. Then it might not do it again for a while, or it might do it again immediately. Its a pretty sporadic problem, and I have no idea what it is. It seems to me like it might be electical, like for a moment its losing spark for some reason, because if I hit the gas just as it cuts out it wont do anything, like it has no spark to ignite the mixture. But I could be wrong.

I havent really checked anything on it yet because I dont know where to start, so I was wondering if anyone here has had/heard of the same type of problem, and if anyone might have an idea as to where to start looking. I would rather try fixing it myself before I pay a shop to do it, but will resort to that as a last option if necessary. Thanks in advance to anyone that can help me!

Re: 93 XP engine randomly cuts out

Sounds like it's siezing due to lack of lubrication. A bad thing too. I would premix your gas for a tank and see if it continues. search out for premix in the fourums and you'll find a lot of info.

If that stops the siezing than you need to look into your oil pump.

Comment

Make sure the plugs ar BR8ES the B8ES will cause the computer to shut down like that.
      Providing mobile JetSki service to the Charlotte / Lake Wylie area.

Comment

i would check the fuel bowl for water and clean it out.