OIL, What to use, not to use

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OIL, What to use, not to use

This probably is the age old question, but since I’m new to this and everyone has been a great help, I’m going to ask away.

What oil should I be using? (‘91 XP) The guy I bought it from said mineral oil only, other fellow skiers say synthetic only, the techs at the dealer/shop say something else and Bombardier have even more varieties to choose from.
    Should I keep using what the previous owner used? Price is not a big factor. I just want to do what’s right. ( I am still using the injector system, no block off)

Re: OIL, What to use, not to use

Wal-Mart has several choices....Go to the "boating" aisle and the "automotive" department, every store has the stuff in a different location for some reason. Most Wal-Marts sell the Bombardier Mineral Oil in 1 liter and 4-liter sizes. They also sell Mercury/Quicksilver brand "PWC" oil in both a mineral and synthetic version..I have used all three in rotary valve Sea-Doo PWC with no problems...Plus Wal-Mart offers several other oil choices for you as well.
    John Kubiak
    Powersports Technical Training Professional
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Sea-Doo Tech 13736
    PWC Tech since 1988 (22 years)
    PowerSports since 1976 (34 years)
    NEVER BUY TIRES AT A "BLOW-OUT" SALE
    Please do not use Private Messaging, use the forums.

Comment

similar question-
      I recently bought a new jug of the XP-S oil recommended for my 97gtx and it appears to have a brownish color to it. The oil in the previous gallon jugs I used had more of a bluish hue to it. is there an issue? I just added the new oil into the old.

Comment

i woudl do a search about this. millions of threads on this.

Comment

Originally posted by 98xlt
          similar question-