help 1998 seadoo gtx not running right

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help 1998 seadoo gtx not running right

i have a 1998 gtx that i have had for a couple weeks now, it ran great up until yesterday. i am a newb to PWC's so i dont know that much about how many rpms are normal for WOT or top speed but i have a problem when i go to start it, wether the engine is warm or cold, i have to start it with the choke on for a second, weird thing is it runs fine after you start it using the choke for about five seconds, idels, dosent bog. it will run fine for 5 seconds, after 5 seconds if i havnt floored it and reached around 4000 rpms it will die,flat on its face. Say at 3000 rpms cruising, it will start to die and if you give it more gas it will just die. It wont restart unless you use the choke again, then it runs fine for 5 seconds. Like i said you have to floor it and get to around 4000rpms within 5 seconds or it will fall on its face. After 4000 RPMS it runs great very peppy no miss and it tops out around 6200 RPMS but it feals fine. it just wont run at all under 4000rpms. If i start it out of the water i can hold it at 3000 rpms but as soon as i hit the water it will die. I have a rebuilt engine, i have clipped the plug wires, new fuel filter up front, new spark plugs, and im running a 40:1 premix. I dont know if it might be a low speed adjuster, a bad fuel pump diaphragm, im pretty sure it's carb related but im open to any suggestions. Thanks, will

Re: help 1998 seadoo gtx not running right

New spark plugs... Are they NGK BR8ES, gapped at 0.022" to 0.024"?

What else happened yesterday? Did you fill up with a lot of fuel? Did the problem occur right after the refuel?

It would be best to order 2 Super BN kits:
    http://www.sbtontheweb.com/Merchant2...tegory_Code=35

And 2 carb base gaskets:
    http://www.sbtontheweb.com/Merchant2...gory_Code=48-1
    Last edited by John Kubiak; 10-14-2005, 09:15 AM.
    John Kubiak