Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Breaking in a 657x. Starts easily, but after the 30 minute runs starts w/ difficulty

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breaking in a 657x. Starts easily, but after the 30 minute runs starts w/ difficulty

I had a new 657x engine installed in a '95 Sportster. I'm new to PWCs (have always been an outdrive guy), so these engines are an anomaly to me. Anyway. I have the extra oil mixed into the gas for the 10 gallon break-in period and here is my problem: When the engine is cold, it always starts quickly. But after I do my 30 minute run and then the prescribed 30 min cool-down period, it is a big challenge to get it restarted. Acts flooded or something like that. By the way, I am cleaning the plugs between these break-in periods. I've done a total of 90 minutes of break-in running so far. Will this problem go away when I go back to having only the oil injector do its job without the added oil to the tank? Thanks. also, am I supposed to be cutting off the fuel supply switch when not using the boat (i.e. brief times of storage or trailiering?) THANKS!

Re: Breaking in a 657x. Starts easily, but after the 30 minute runs starts w/ diffic

Whats your compression?

Comment

Re: Breaking in a 657x. Starts easily, but after the 30 minute runs starts w/ diffic

Yes, you should turn off the fuel when the boat is not in use.

As far as the hard starting, can be caused by a few things. One would be excessive rotary surface clearance, the other would be a bad vent in the fuel (tank) system. Next time it does it, open the gas cap, and see if there is a pressure relief... If there is, you have a problem with a vent.
      Dan Solie -
      04 RXP (the "Instigator")
      94 xp (freestyle mods)
      95 xp (faster than the 94)
      JS550 (the toothpick & the loaner)

For FREE Seadoo Manuals - Click HERE!!!!

http://www.tripleateam.com/water/v/U...ery/Dan-Solie/