Smoke from air box

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smoke from air box

I recently bought a '92 XP that has a '90 SP engine. It's gotten increasingly difficult to start, although it cranks fine. It also has the twin carbs from the original XP engine. One of the bolts that holds the rotary valve cover on fell out the other day while I was trying to start it. There is a slight gap since the bolt's not holding that corner of the cover tight. I'm thinking that this could be causing an air leak. The spark is fine, the plugs are new and wet with gas and oil (when it won't start). I also noticed some smoke coming out of the air box when it first starts. It'll also smoke from the box slightly if I rev it. Does anybody have any ideas what could be causing this? I'm fairly new to jet skis and completely new to SeaDoo's rotary valve system. If anybody can help, I'd really appreciate it! Thanks.

I'm not touching this with a 20ft pole, sounds very difficult to me!! [img]graemlins/spit.gif[/img]

Comment

You definitly can have an airleak thee - do not run it until you take off the cover, inspect the valve and cover condition (must be perfect), then replace the bolt.

Comment

There's one other issue I forgot to mention. The threads are stripped out of rear of the rotary valve cover. I'm not sure of how to repair this except to pull off the carbs, intake, and rotary cover and tap the hole or use a heli-coil. I wish it was as easy as replacing a bolt!

Comment

That's exactly what you need to do.

Comment

It can be very difficult to get a heli-coil in some of the rotary valve cover bolt holes as they are very shallow. We use Time-Serts instead.
            Bill O'Neal WCM
            <a href="http://www.watercraftmagic.com" target="_blank">www.watercraftmagic.com</a>

Comment