98 Tigershark R1000 starter seized

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 98 Tigershark R1000 starter seized

starter is seized. How difficult would this be to replace myself do I need any special tools? Took it to the shop they diagnosed the problem and quoted it as a $900 job. I've worked on cars I'm not a mechanic but I can turn a wrench.

Re: 98 Tigershark R1000 starter seized

Are you sure they didn't say starter bendix?
    SBT Tech Support is here to help with your problems.
    We try to answer each question quickly and accurately.
    Please do not use Private Messaging for Tech Support, use the forums.

Comment

If it is the starter then you would have to:

1. Remove air box from carbs
      2. Remove carbs
      3. Remove center intake manifold
      4. Remove rear starter bolts and red lead to starter.
      5. Account for the spacer and dont drop it under the engine.
      6. Pull and twist old starter out the rear.

Just reverse to install new starter.

All that you would need are normal hand tools and blue loctite to reassemble.
      1-1.5 hr. job if all the bolts come out clean and don't snap off from salt water.

If it is the bendix then that is a different story. A dealer will charge a lot for this since it requires a lot of patience. You can do it without pulling the engine from the hull or pulling the flywheel but most dealers will want to do this. I can do it in the hull in about 2-3 hrs. Very tight and hard to get to all the bolts since it is so close to the gas tank.
      Providing mobile JetSki service to the Charlotte / Lake Wylie area.

Comment

Hey Dank,