98 GP1200 looking for the problem...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 98 GP1200 looking for the problem...

I just bought a new engine from you guys and before I install it I wanted to get to the root of the problem, Bryan when you and I spoke today we figured that it was most likely and issue with the carb on the junked piston.

Well...I've got that carb disassmbled and I've attached a photo of the only thing I think looks like, detonation on the pump plate, could this be the culprit??? But that is the only thing I see that appears wrong? This is my first time doing this, am I missing something?

Also, I can get everything apart but I can't seem to get the high and low speed jets out, pictured in 1.5, I took their respective adjusting needles out, but can't seem to pry them out?

Any help, GREATLY appreciated.
    Attached Files

Re: 98 GP1200 looking for the problem...

There's nothing that can go wrong with the plate itself. Often the wear on the gaskets and diaphrams isn't appearant to the maked eye. The jets do not pry out, they unscrew. You do not need to take them out, just squirt carb cleaner through them.

Watch the carb videos and read the carb rebuilding tech guide for Mikuni SBN.
    SBT Tech Support is here to help with your problems.
    We try to answer each question quickly and accurately.
    Please do not use Private Messaging for Tech Support, use the forums.

Comment

Yea, I printed the guied out and am following it. I thought it showed those 2 pieces removed in the photograph in the instructions.

As far as the plate, there's a black (like a firecracker went off next to it) mark on the inside of the pump plate and the diaphram that I was curious about. Other than that, everything (seals/gaskets) all appeared to have been in great shape.

Also, the needle seems to have a small groove close to the tip, should I replace? Where do you think I can get a good price?

Thank you!
      Last edited by cwehse; 02-24-2005, 11:26 PM.