Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• xl 800 wont plane off

Hey guys,

First post here so I thaught I would say hello first. I was a Marine technician for years and always worked on my own skis and motors without problems. I still help a local dealer sometimes through the summer when his workload is high. That is how I stumbled across this monster. Please read this and give me any advise you can. Thanks in advance.

Premiuim engine installed last year engine was broken in and set through the winter. When the ski was started this spring it would only run about 13 mph, and would run smoothly from idle up to 13. I first thaught the carbs must be gummed up, Nope. I then noticed the servo motor was not operating the PV's. This is when out of frustration I sent the ski out to the dealership to get it sorted out.

The ski was at the dealership for a few weeks and they tried everything that yamaha could recomend and the ski still runs the same. They replaced all sorts of electrical items and could not make the ski run.

So now its back in my lap for round two so I thaught I would check the PV's for proper operation, That checks out. So I decided with the exhaust loose I may as well check for blockage there, That is exactly how it acted anyway. I found the muffler full of water, when I blew air threw the exhaust from the engine I could feel pressure build up and then it would bubble On through and exit the hull. Is this normal? I could understand some water in the exhaust but this seems like a blockage.

Any advice or comments would be appreciated.

Re: xl 800 wont plane off

You didn't say what year ski, but have you checked the catalytic converter? Sounds like it may have broken up and is clogging the exhaust.
    05 Sea-Doo 3D
    05 Yamaha VX110 (current project ski--looking for a used hull)
    03 Yamaha XL700
    00 Yamaha XL1200LTD
    98 Yamaha XL1200

Comment