1999 yamaha xl limted 1200

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1999 yamaha xl limted 1200

first off..sorry for the long post :-), i'm new to jet ski's..i road one last year..it also was a yamaha..but it was a 4-stroke....i work on 3 and 4 wheelers as a hobby...soo..i'm very well mechanicley inclined...on this ski i have now..i already knew it had a dead cylinder..# 3 the pto...sure enough..after tearing the motor down..and getting to the crank case..the # 3 cylinder had a busted hole through the top half of the crank case..piston,cylinder and raves are shot..the guy claimed it ran on 2 cylinders...i never cranked it up..fearing it would do more damage, my question is..what causes the cylinder to go bad ??..i read a few post on here..that yamaha had issues with oil lines coming off..but..as i took the motor apart..all the oil lines seemed to be hooked up..soo..when i get my new parts in..and start to put it back together..what should i look for ?..i'm thinking maybe the carbs ran too lean ?.oil pump shouldn't be bad i would think..or more than one cylinder would of got fried . any help on this would be great..thanks in advance.

Re: 1999 yamaha xl limted 1200

I am in a similar situation... Just bought a 2001 LS2000 and the pto side cylinder in the starboard engine is wasted. I'm already on my way with a reputable shop in my area boring the cylinder and they picked up a new SBT piston for me. My question is the same... I would really like to know the cause of the problem. The damage was done before I bought the boat so I don't know what was going on when it happened. I have already rebuilt the carbs and did intake gaskets so my first thoughts are that the carb for that cylinder was running lean.